AO Research Institute Davos hosts the summit of European Orthopaedic Research

The 18th annual EORS conference took place in Davos June 30 to July 2, 2010

02 August 2010

The summit of European Orthopaedics Research

The AO Research Institute Davos (ARI) was honored to host the 18th conference of the European Orthopaedic Research Society​ (EORS) which took place in Davos, Switzerland, from June 30-July 2, 2010. The conference was chaired by AO Research Institute Davos Director, Geoff Richards and he was aided in the conference organization by AO Research Institute Davos researchers Alexandra Poulsson, Sophie Verrier and Stephan Zeiter.

Welcome address from Nicola Baldini,
EORS President

Timios Mitsiadis and Sophie Verrier chairing the
Stemcell Therapy Session

James Kellam, James Kirkpatrick and
Geoff Richards discussing AO Research Institute Davos funding strategies

Franziska Krauss Juillerat discussing her poster with
one of the poster judges Dr Jürg Gasser

The EORS2010 was attended by more than 300 researchers and clinicians from over 22 countries—most European countries were represented and there were also many attendees from outside Europe.
Prior to the conference commencement two industrial workshops were held, one highlighting “The Tribology of PEEK” sponsored by Invibio Biomaterials Solutions and the second featuring “The Versatility of micro-CT for Orthopaedic Research” sponsored by Scanco Medical.

The conference opening ceremony, held on June 30, consisted of a welcome address by Nicola Baldini (President of the EORS) and Geoff Richards (Conference Chair). The aim of the summit was to present and discuss basic, applied / translational and clinical research in a friendly, multidisciplinary environment. To achieve this most sessions started with a keynote lecture to show-case cutting edge clinical and scientific orthopedic research.

EORS2010 presented a strong scientific programme with 100 of the submitted abstracts selected for oral presentations in three parallel sessions, and 140 poster presentations, in addition to the 17 invited keynotes lectures. The conference had a number of scientific partners including AO Trauma, the Swiss National Science Foundation, the Swiss Society of Biomaterials (SSB), the RMS-foundation as well as sponsorship from industrial partners such as Scanco Medical, Merck Serono, Novartis, Roche, and Invibio.

The conference was held in the new congress facilities of the Hotel Morosani Schweizerhof, this informal setting combined with the nice weather and the good mix of clinicians and researchers encouraged much discussion and exchange of ideas during the coffee breaks and poster sessions.

The EORS awards ceremony was held as part of the closing ceremony, and the awards were given to M F Pietschmann et al., Ludwig Maximilians University, Munich, Germany; Johanna Hummes et al., Institute for Materials Applications in Mechanical Engineering, Germany and Maximilien Jung et al., Orthopaedic Surgery & Nuclear Medicine, Geneva, Switzerland.

The student prizes (sponsored by SSB) were also presented here—the best oral presentation prize went to Andy Wirth, Institute for Biomechanics ETH Zurich, Switzerland for a study investigating the contribution of the peri-implant bone microarchitecture in defining implant stability. The SSB student prize for the best poster presentation was given to Bryan Haughom, University of San Francisco, USA, for a study which assessed knee cartilage 1 year after anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction with 3T MRI.

(L-R) Geoff Richards, Alexandra Poulsson, Timios Mitsiadis, Nicola Baldini Fintan Moriarty, James Kirkpatrick.


The conference dinner was held at Rinerhorn, giving the participants a true taste of the Swiss Alps in the idyllic setting overlooking Davos with Alphorns music and local food, beer and wine. Geoff Richards also took the opportunity at the closing ceremony to underline the high quality of the discussions and the excellent interaction between the participants giving rise to new ideas. Finally, in recognition of their hard work in organizing the conference, Nicolas Baldini and the EORS executive committee offered Alexandra Poulsson, Sophie Verrier and Stephan Zeiter an honorary one year membership of the EORS.

In conclusion, the meeting was very well received, with a lot of positive feedback for the high scientific content and the strong presence of AO Research Institute with AO Trauma as the main sponsor of the conference emphasized the strong position the AO has within orthopedics in Europe.


Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.