AO Research Institute Davos update

We are proud to announce the recognition of two AO Research Institute Davos scientists

10 October 2018

International Fellows of Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine (FTERM)

FTERM awardees, Gerjo van Osch, Anthony Weiss, TERMIS President Rui Rees (presenting the awards), Milica Radisic, Mauro Alini

The AO Research Institute Davos (ARI) is proud to announce that Prof Mauro Alini, Vice director of the institute and Musculoskeletal Regeneration program leader was awarded the FTERM at the world TERMIS conference​ in Kyoto in September this year. Alini has spent 20 years at AO Research Institute Davos working in the field of tissue engineering and regenerative medicine, following his previous research on developmental biology of the growth plate in McGill University in Montreal, Canada.

The Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine International Society (TERMIS) brings together the international community of people engaged or interested in the field of tissue engineering and regenerative medicine, promoting International Education and Collaboration for the Advancement of Tissue Engineering & Regenerative Medicine.

The International Fellows of Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine (FTERM) was created to recognize a distinguished leader within the tissue engineering and regenerative medicine field. FTERM was established to recognize an individual's role in shaping the tissue engineering and regenerative medicine field and TERMIS.

Prof Geoff Richards, AO Research Institute Davos's director, noted "It is extremely prestigious for a member of AO Research Institute Davos to become FTERM, as only five individuals in the world became FTERM in 2018 and the next intake of fellows will not be until 2021, when Europe hosts the world conference. We are extremely proud of Mauro."

Mauro was recently awarded the Marshall Urist award (2015), the highest award of the Orthopaedic Research Society (ORS), recognizing leading-edge tissue regeneration research. He received that award for his disc regeneration work with AO Research Institute Davos's unique mechanically loading bioreactor, which simulates human body loading of the spine, and the FTERM honor follows on nicely from the award. 

Currently there is an exceptional election of the future TERMIS Global President, due to the resignation of the current President-Elect. We are also proud that Prof Geoff Richards was nominated to be one of the six world candidates after scrutiny of the nomination committee. He is currently a global member at large of the TERMIS governing board.

European Orthopaedic Research Society (EORS)

Gianluca Vadala, spine surgeon Rome, Italy (Vice President), Denitsa Docheva, Prof, Regensburg, Germany (President), Boyko Gueorguiev, Prof AO Research Institute Davos, Switzerland (General Secretary), Jeannette Penny, Foot and Ankle surgeon, Denmark (Treasurer)

It is with great pleasure that we announce that Prof Boyko Gueorguiev, Biomedical Development program leader at AO Research Institute Davos was elected to be General Secretary in the executive committee (EC) of the European Orthopaedic Research Society (EORS). Boyko was elected at the society's general assembly held recently at EORS 2018 in Galway, Ireland. This position keeps a strong connection of the AO Foundation with the EORS. Previously Prof Geoff Richards was a member at large of EORS from 2011 until 2016, after organizing the EORS 2010 in Davos.

Prof Richards mentioned that "We are very proud that Boyko is in the EC of EORS, continuing a long collaboration with the AO Research Institute Davos. As a senior member, he will be able to give good advice to the new young board."

EORS is a member of the International Combined Orthopaedic Research Societies (ICORS), which will hold the global summit of orthopedic research, hosted by another constituent member – the Canadian Orthopaedic Research Society​ (COA) in Montreal next June. The ICORS 2019 meeting will highlight advances in orthopedic research with an emphasis on how new discoveries translate into improved clinical care – from the bench to the bedside. ICORS has met consistently every three years since 1992 and in 2013 it established the International College of Fellows and Honorary status of Fellow of International Orthopaedic Research​ (FIOR) which inducted its first fellows in Xian, China in 2016. Prof Richards is the chair of the college and both he and Mauro Alini are inaugural fellows.


Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.