Regional scientific conference recognizes AO researcher

AO Research Institute scientist recognized

25 September 2018

Medical sciences winner Sebastian Wangler, AO Research Institute Davos. © Christian Ehrbar
The topics on which research is conducted in the Canton of Graubünden are often very complex. At this year's Graubünden forscht - The Young Researchers Convention in Davos, the young scientists set themselves the goal of presenting their research in a clear and understandable way to an audience that was not familiar with the subject. The Graduate School Graubünden, which organized the event, offered a special course in advance to help the participants with their communication skills.

Those who were best able to captivate the audience won CHF 500 each. A total of seven prizes were awarded, including one to Sebastian Wangler from the AO Research Institute Davos (ARI) in the medical sciences category. 

Other winners also included Karin Fieten (High Mountain Clinic, Davos), Kirstin Jansen (Swiss Institute for Allergy and Asthma Research SIAF, Davos), Oliver Wirz (CK-CARE, Davos/Swiss Institute for Allergy and Asthma Research ​SIAF, Davos), Stephanie Mayer (WSL Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research SLF, Davos), Hannes Merbold (HTW Chur), and Vincent Simonin (University of Geneva​/Swiss National Park).

Former AO Research Institute Davos employeeMarina Sabaté Brescó
On the first day of the conference, the Graduate School Graubünden honored the researchers who successfully completed their doctoral thesis at one of the research institutions in the Canton from 2016-2018. ​

Former AO Research Institute Davos employee, Marina Sabaté Brescó, who is now carrying out research in her native Spain, sent this message to the attendees: "When I moved to Davos, I was not sure what I would find. But Davos soon became everything to me. Professionally, I had the opportunity to work on implant related infections and immune responses at AO Research Institute Davos and the Swiss Institute for Allergy and Asthma Research. I was able to collaborate with excellent researchers in various fields in both institutions. I met people from all over the world who inspired and taught me. From this, deep friendships have developed. While nothing lasts forever, my time in Davos will remain a valuable and unforgettable experience in my life."

Graubünden research 2018' winners with the President of the Graduate School Graubünden, Walter Reinhart (from left to right): Stephanie Mayer, Karin Fieten, Vincent Simonin, Urszula Radzikowska (representing Kirstin Jansen), and Sebastian Wangler. Not shown: Hannes Merbold, Oliver Wirz. © Christian Ehrbar


Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.