Wilhelm-Roux-Preis 2008

A team of AO researchers was recently awarded this research prize.

20 January 2009

The Association for Basic Research (Vereinigung fürGrundlagenforschung) which is part of the German Society forOrthopedics and Orthopedic Surgery (DeutscheGesellschaft für Orthopädie und orthopädische Chirurgie) is theawarding body for this research prize.

It is given to the best presentation at the annual conference ofthe GermanSociety for Orthopedics and Trauma Surgery ( Deutschen Gesellschaft für Orthopädie und Unfallchirurgie ).

The 2008 award went to the working group comprised of Karsten Schwieger,Boyko Gueorguiev, Matthew Lawson-Smith, Markus Windolf, and Karl Stoffel, forthe presentation of the scientific work entitled: “Biomechanical potential ofangular stable locking for intramedullary nailing of distal tibiafractures.”

This work was part of a series of studies investigating the effect ofangular stable locking upon nail osteosynthesis stability. The study wasconducted by the Biomechanical Research Group of the AO Research InstituteDavos in close collaboration with Synthes and the Department of OrthopedicSurgery in Fremantle, Australia.

Congratulations to all the members of the group on their success!

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.